

## Monday 16 March 2020

## Dear Member of Parliament,

The board of the Christian Community Churches of New Zealand Service Trust urgently ask you and all MPs in the house to vote NO at the third and final reading of the Abortion Legislation Bill on Tuesday.

We are deeply committed to the well-being of women who have had an abortion. We are deeply committed to the well-being of women who are currently facing an unplanned or unwanted pregnancy. We recognise the magnitude of the decision facing them. We are also equally committed to the humanity and dignity of the unborn child. It's this deep commitment to both women and their unborn children that leads us to urgently ask you and all MPs to vote NO.

## Why?

The best of our compassion takes a holistic approach to the well-being of both mothers and their unborn children. This bill, in its current form, does not.

The best of our research and reflection recognises the humanity and dignity of those in the womb. This bill, in its current form, does not.

The best of our science, culture, and reason affirms (as Cynthia Piper states): "In the womb, the child already has its own unique genetic identity and whakapapa." This bill, in its current form, does not.

The best of our human rights tradition gives every New Zealander—especially the most vulnerable—human rights. This bill, in its current form, does not.

The best of our common sense recognises the humanity of the unborn child. This bill, in its current form, does not.

The best of the medical profession calls on medical professionals to care for those in crisis. This bill, in its current form, does not.

The best of our compassion, research, science, human rights, common sense and medical ethics invites us to take a better way forward on this issue than the one proposed.

Therefore we urgently ask you to vote NO at the third reading on Tuesday.

## Kind regards,

The Christian Community Churches of New Zealand Board, a service trust supporting and serving Open Brethren heritage churches, campsites and support ministries in Aotearoa, New Zealand.

Gordon Fountain (Chair), Stuart Bay, Debbie Bosse, Graham Fletcher, Murray Frost, Mark Grace, Rick Iles, Ane Ponifasio, Shannon Samuels, and Bruce Stormer.



